Product analyses for families

Amazon R24SB8

Fire HD 8 Kids Tablet

Limits games, videos and reading time separately, and survived two throws from different heights in a test video.

Conditionally recommended

Recommended if it is enough for you that Amazon may also transmit your child's data to its US parent company.

Is the Fire HD 8 Kids worth it as a first tablet for kids?

Conditional recommendation for the Fire HD 8 Kids from Amazon, even though its own child profile, the time limits and the protective case stand out positively in everyday use. In a test video it survives two throws, and at our home it survives a few falls too. The source “heise online bestenlisten” measures just over nine hours of video playback. According to the manufacturer, the tablet collects, among other things, the child's voice, photos and location, but Amazon does not name a storage location in the EU, and its privacy policy allows transfer to the US company. That missing information keeps it from a better recommendation, and a blog also shows how children get around the web filters through Kids+ apps.

The analysis

The Fire HD 8 Kids is an ordinary 8-inch tablet from Amazon in a thick kids' case with a fold-out handle, intended according to the manufacturer for children aged three to seven. The child gets their own profile with shows, audiobooks, games and learning apps from Amazon Kids+, and you decide what runs and for how long. In the video from “Papas Vlog”, a four-year-old drags letters into place in an ABC app, and the father sets it so that a learning app comes first before Paw Patrol is allowed, with separate times for weekdays and weekends. In a forum, parents tell of five hours on the motorway with episodes downloaded beforehand. At our home, my daughter uses an older model very sparingly. It is enormously important to control the content yourself, since there is a heap of pointless game apps that only look nice but hardly challenge or develop anything, and I personally can't endorse that. There are a few individual, worthwhile game and learning gems, though. Amazon gives the age limit as 3 years and I think that this age is simply far too early to confront children with technical devices of this kind. Even at 10 years old I still limit my child's play time, but that is my personal opinion.\n\nThe comparisons show where it falls short. In the test by “heise online bestenlisten”, switching between apps is sluggish and even Roblox stutters, and the testers point to the faster Fire HD 10. Compared with Android tablets, the Google Play Store is missing, and with it YouTube Kids, which for the father at “Tech Pro Journal” is the reason his son prefers to reach for another device. What weighs more heavily for me is a comparison on the blog “n00py”. Through the privacy link of two approved Kids+ apps, the author reached Google search and adult content within five minutes, without the parent dashboard recording anything, whereas on an iPhone the filters also worked in such embedded browsers. Amazon then removed only the reported apps. For kindergarten-age children, the first time with the tablet is therefore better spent close to you.\n\nThe display has a resolution of 1280 x 800 pixels. The tester from “TV Movie”, who tried it with his four-year-old son under the duvet, found the picture good enough and pleasantly not too glaring. Outdoors it looks different. At around 400 candela, according to the measurement in the tech test, it is barely readable in the sun. The speakers are quiet, and in the forum a mother recommends headphones for the car, because on the motorway the child otherwise understands little. “Inside Graz” mentions a volume limit in the kids profile, but no source gives a level. The cameras deliver mediocre pictures everywhere, far too dark ones against the light, and at our home we find the display and camera equally mediocre.\n\nAll sources praise the case. In the vlog, the tablet is thrown twice from different heights and keeps working afterwards, and the tech test highlights the handle, which locks into place in several positions and doesn't pinch fingers. It is not waterproof. If it breaks, Amazon replaces it free of charge for two years according to the manufacturer. How often depends on goodwill, in the testers' assessment. The data sheet promises up to 13 hours of mixed use, and what was measured was 9 hours and 12 minutes of video streaming at 40 percent brightness, less with games. On standby, the British father's device lost only two thirds of its charge in two weeks. With the 5-watt power adapter, charging takes just under five hours, with 15 watts about two and a half.\n\nLittle works without Amazon. Setup requires an Amazon account, without which it's over according to the test from Graz, and the same test criticizes a cluttered home screen on which parents have to deselect content item by item. The Kids+ subscription is included for one year, after that it costs a monthly fee, and according to the vlog it is precisely the content that makes up the value. Anyone who retrofits the Play Store loses Amazon's warranty, according to the tech test. Only a specialist service may replace the battery. How long updates will come, where the device is built and what happens if Amazon discontinues the service, none of my sources say. They also range from the 2017 model to the 2024 generation, so the details on processor and camera differ slightly.

Pros

  • Time limits can be set per type of content, for example a learning app first, then a video, with bedtime and separate rules for the weekend, as “Papas Vlog” and “teltarif” show.
  • In the video from “Papas Vlog”, the thick case survives two throws from different heights, and according to “heise online bestenlisten”, its handle doesn't pinch fingers.
  • Downloaded episodes play without internet, and parents in the “urbia” forum bridge five hours of motorway with them.
  • In the streaming test by “heise online bestenlisten”, the battery lasts 9 hours 12 minutes, and on standby at “Tech Pro Journal” it lost only about two thirds in two weeks.

Cons

  • On the blog “n00py”, the author reached Google search and adult content within five minutes via embedded browsers in approved Kids+ apps, unnoticed by the parent dashboard. Amazon removed only the reported apps.
  • According to Amazon's privacy policy, children's data may go to the US company and to recipients outside the EEA, and Amazon names no storage location.
  • Without the Google Play Store, popular apps like YouTube Kids are missing, which at “Tech Pro Journal” means the tablet gets used less often.
  • Performance is tight. At “heise online bestenlisten”, switching between apps is sluggish and Roblox stutters, and outdoors the display is hard to read.

Educational value

  • Coordination
  • Logical thinking
  • Problem solving
  • Technological understanding
  • Reading and writing
  • Listening
  • Creativity

What a child practises with it depends almost entirely on the content parents approve. In the video from “Papas Vlog”, a four-year-old matches letters to pictures in an ABC app, A for apple, B for ball, and through the learning goals you can set it so that such an app comes before videos. At our home, a few selected games call for logical thinking, combining and reaction, but the majority is limited to tapping and watching. According to the father in the vlog, children understand apps and games only toward the end of four or at five, and before that it mostly stays with listening and watching. The selection itself remains work for parents, because in my experience the age filter delivers a lot of trivial content alongside what is suitable.

Privacy

According to Amazon, the tablet collects in the kids profile, among other things, name, date of birth, voice, photos, videos, location and usage and device data. Amazon doesn't say where this data is stored, but the privacy policy allows sharing with the US company and transfers outside the EEA.

  • Works offline
  • Manufacturer account required
Location data (optional)
shared with third parties · Server: Unknown · Location via Wi-Fi, collected according to the children's privacy statement. According to the safety sheet, apps with location access can pass it on to third parties. Location services can be deselected during setup and locked with a password. Transfer to the US company possible according to the privacy policy.
Audio recordings (optional)
Sharing with third parties: not stated by the manufacturer · Server: Unknown · The child's voice according to the children's privacy statement. According to the manufacturer, Alexa is not available in the kids profile and, according to “TV Movie”, can be switched off. In 2023 the “Federal Trade Commission” accused Amazon of keeping Alexa recordings of children despite requests to delete them.
Photos (optional)
Sharing with third parties: not stated by the manufacturer · Server: Unknown · Photos according to the children's privacy statement. According to “teltarif”, the camera can be deactivated in the kids profile, and parents see recordings in parent mode.
Video recordings (optional)
Sharing with third parties: not stated by the manufacturer · Server: Unknown · Videos according to the children's privacy statement. Camera can be switched off in the kids profile according to “teltarif”.
Usage statistics
Sharing with third parties: not stated by the manufacturer · Server: Unknown · Activity and device information according to the children's privacy statement, used for recommendations and for parents' insight in the dashboard. Transfer to the US company possible according to the privacy policy.

Production and distribution

My own research, as of 07/11/2026. Details may have changed since.

Location
China

According to my research, Amazon produces in China. Contract manufacturers include Foxconn, Quanta, Inventec and Pegatron, Taiwanese companies with plants in mainland China, mainly Guangdong and the Shanghai area. Amazon does not disclose which plant specifically builds the Fire HD 8 Kids – the device and packaging only say “Made in China”.

Specs and features

Show all 22 details

Specifications

Age according to the manufacturer
From 3 years, designed for ages 3 to 7; I rather recommend the end of age 5
Display
8 inches, 1280 x 800 pixels, 189 ppi, IPS; “heise online bestenlisten” measures around 400 cd/m², hard to read in direct sun
Processor and memory
Hexa-core 2.0 GHz, 3 GB RAM (2024 generation) according to the data sheet; the manufacturer's page for the 2020 generation lists quad-core 2.0 GHz and 2 GB RAM
Storage
32 GB (24.8 GB usable according to the manufacturer's page), expandable by up to 1 TB via microSD; also with 64 GB according to the data sheet
Camera
Front 2 MP, rear 5 MP according to the data sheet (2024 generation); the manufacturer's page for the 2020 generation lists 2 MP front and rear
Audio
Built-in speaker, microphone, 3.5 mm headphone jack, Bluetooth for headphones
Volume limit
Adjustable for the kids profile according to “Inside Graz”
Battery and charging
Lithium-ion polymer, permanently installed, replacement only by a specialist service; USB-C 2.0; under 5 hours with a 5 W charger according to the manufacturer; “heise online bestenlisten” measures just under 5 hours (5 W), about 3 hours (9 W), about 2.5 hours (15 W)
Battery life
Up to 13 hours of mixed use according to the data sheet (2024 generation), up to 12 hours according to the manufacturer's page (2020 generation); “heise online bestenlisten” measures 9 hours 12 minutes of video streaming at 40% brightness
Connections
Dual-band Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth 5.2 LE, location via Wi-Fi only, no GPS, no cellular
Operating system
Fire OS 8 based on Android 11, Amazon Appstore, no Google Play Store
Subscription
Amazon Kids+ included for the first year, then paid and cancellable monthly
Parent app
Parental controls in the Amazon Kids app or via web browser, up to 4 kids profiles
Account
Amazon account required; according to “Inside Graz”, it cannot be used after setup without an account
Water protection
Not waterproof, not even with the case, the manufacturer warns against moisture
Weight
550 g with case according to the manufacturer's page; “heise online bestenlisten”: 337 g without case, 508 g with Kids Pro case
Dimensions
233 x 184 x 26 mm with case according to the manufacturer's page; tablet alone 201.9 x 137.3 x 9.4 mm
What's in the box
Fire HD 8 tablet, kid-friendly case with stand, USB-C cable, 5 W charger (depending on model), quick start guide according to the manufacturer's page
Guarantee
2-year worry-free guarantee with free replacement if it breaks, in addition to the statutory warranty
Certification marks
FCC compliance and ENERGY STAR according to the manufacturer's safety sheet for the 12th generation; no source mentions an EU certification mark

Features

Ad-free
According to the manufacturer, the device shows no ads in the kids profile or in Amazon Kids+.
Hands-on experience
I have used this product at home myself; my experience is listed as a source and adds to the others, it does not replace them.

Frequently asked questions

From what age can my child use the Fire HD 8 Kids on their own?

From about the end of four or five years old. Amazon states three to seven years, but the father at “Papas Vlog” sees an understanding of apps and games only at preschool age. Before that, according to him, it's better suited to listening to audio plays and watching films.

Does YouTube Kids run on the Fire HD 8 Kids?

No, not out of the box. The tablet only has the Amazon Appstore, in which YouTube Kids is missing according to “Tech Pro Journal” and users on “mydealz”. You can retrofit the Play Store unofficially, but according to “heise online bestenlisten”, Amazon's warranty then expires.

Does the tablet work in the car without Wi-Fi?

Yes, with content downloaded beforehand. According to the manufacturer, without a connection the kids profile automatically shows the downloaded videos, apps and books, and for videos it's up to 25 across all devices on the subscription. In the “urbia” forum, parents report a five-hour car trip with it.

What happens after the first year of Amazon Kids+?

The subscription renews at a cost, but can be cancelled at any time. Without Kids+, the large amount of content that according to “Papas Vlog” makes up the real value falls away. The father at “Tech Pro Journal” also reports that he could only use the parent dashboard with the subscription.

Can I use the kids tablet myself in the evening?

Yes. In the parent profile it is a normal Fire tablet with a browser, Kindle and Prime Video, as “Papas Vlog” shows. According to “home&smart”, the case is easy to remove.

What is in the box with the Fire HD 8 Kids?

The tablet already sits in the kids' case, and it comes with a USB-C cable, a quick start guide and, according to the manufacturer's page, a 5 W charger. With this it charges in just under five hours, while a 15 W power adapter manages it in about two and a half according to “heise online bestenlisten”.

How often does Amazon replace the tablet if it breaks?

Within two years, Amazon replaces it free of charge if it breaks, according to the manufacturer. No source names a fixed number of replacements, and I suspect it depends on Amazon's goodwill.

Shop links

Manufacturer’s list price: €169.99 · As of 07/11/2026

Sources

21 sources checked · Last checked: 07/11/2026

  1. Don't Buy Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids | Honest Review | Problemsyoutube.com · YouTube · 16/06/2026
  2. Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Tablet Review: Is It Perfect for Your Child's Entertainment & Learning?youtube.com · YouTube · 26/09/2023
  3. Kinder Tablet das Rundum sorglos Paket ? Amazon Fire HD 8"Kids Edition 2021 Review/Test | Papas Vlogyoutube.com · YouTube · 15/10/2021
  4. urbia.de: 5268139 kinder tableturbia.de · Forum
  5. de.amazonforum.com: fire hd 8 kids eigene inhaltede.amazonforum.com · Forum
  6. mydealz.de: amazon fire hd 8 kids tablet neueste generation 2845844mydealz.de · Forum
  7. Amazon Fire HD 8 & HD 8 Kids (2024) im Test: Günstiges Familien-Tablet | heise online bestenlistenheise.de · Test report
  8. Fire HD 8 Kids: Tablet für 3- bis 6-Jährige im Test – intuitiv, robust, spaßig!tvmovie.de · Article
  9. amazon.de: displayamazon.de · Manufacturer info
  10. Bypassing Amazon Kids+ Parental Controls – n00py Blogn00py.io · Article
  11. Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Edition im Test – Kindersicheres Tablethomeandsmart.de · Article
  12. Amazonamazon.de · Manufacturer product page
  13. Fire Tablet Specifications: Fire HD Models | Amazon Fire Device Specificationsdeveloper.amazon.com · Manufacturer datasheet
  14. Safety & Compliance Information for Fire HD 8 (12th Generation)digprjsurvey.amazon.com · Manufacturer datasheet
  15. Supply chain - Amazon Sustainabilitysustainability.aboutamazon.com · Manufacturer info
  16. FTC and DOJ Charge Amazon with Violating Children’s Privacy Law by Keeping Kids’ Alexa Voice Recordings Forever and Undermining Parents’ Deletion Requestsftc.gov · Article · 31/05/2023
  17. Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Tablet (2022) im Test - Wo es hakt!inside-graz.at · Test report · 15/12/2022
  18. Erfahrungsbericht: Amazons Kinder-Tablet im Familien-Testteltarif.de · Article
  19. amazon.de: displayamazon.de · Manufacturer info
  20. amazon.de: displayamazon.de · Manufacturer datasheet
  21. Wir haben das Tablet der 11. GenerationOwn experience
Published on 07/11/2026 · Updated on 07/11/2026 · Image credits: © Joachim Pürcher